Friday, July 12, 2024

Yuzvendra Chahal Record: Yuzvendra Chahal's 'double century' of victims in IPL! History made with Nabi's wicket

Leader Online Desk : Yuzvendra Chahal Record : Rajasthan Royals (RR) star spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has created history in the 38th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024. He became the first bowler in the world to take 200 wickets in the biggest league of cricket. As soon as he dismissed Mohammad Nabi (23), he made this record in his name.

Chahal's IPL career

Chahal, who has been playing in the IPL since 2013, completed 200 wickets in his 153rd IPL match of the tournament. He has taken these wickets at an average of around 21 in his decade-long IPL career. His best performance is 5 wickets for 40 runs. He has played for Mumbai Indians (MI) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) before RR.

Chahal also won the Purple Cap in IPL 2022

In IPL 2022, Chahal took 27 wickets in 17 matches at an average of 19.52 and an economy rate of 7.75. He won the Purple Cap that season. He became the second leg-spinner after Imran Tahir to take the most wickets in a single season of IPL. Tahir took the most wickets in IPL 2019 with 26 wickets. Chahal has taken more than 20 wickets in 5 seasons of IPL.

How is Chahal doing with RR?

After winning the Purple Cap for RR in IPL 2022, Chahal also performed wonders in IPL 2023. Last season he took 21 wickets in 14 matches at an average of 20.57 and an economy rate of 8.18. He has so far taken more than 60 wickets for the Rajasthan team. He is the third highest wicket taker for RR after Shane Watson (67) and Siddharth Trivedi (65).

Most wicket taking bowler from RCB

Chahal represented RCB from 2014 to 2021. During this time he played 113 matches and took 139 wickets at an average of 22.03 and an economy rate of 7.58. Meanwhile, he took 4-4 wickets in 2 matches. Apart from him, no other bowler in the RCB team has been able to reach the figure of 100 wickets. Only Harshal Patel has taken 99 wickets.

In MI's champion team

Mumbai Indians won the IPL title in 2013 under the leadership of Rohit Sharma. Chahal was a part of that team. Chahan played only 1 match that season, in which he did not take a single wicket.

RP Singh became the first bowler to take 50 wickets in IPL. He did this in 2010. Then Lasith Malinga became the first bowler to score a century (IPL 2012) and half century (IPL 2017). He achieved this record while playing for MI.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles