Thursday, July 18, 2024

Sudhir Sharma: Expulsion of rebel Congress MLA from Himachal Pradesh Sudhir Sharma from the party organization

New Delhi, Leading News Service: In the recently held Rajya Sabha elections, 6 MLAs in Himachal Pradesh voted against their party lines (cross voting). Among them, former minister and MLA Sudhir Sharma, secretary of the All India Congress Committee, was expelled from the post of secretary. With the approval of party president Mallikarjun Kharge, the general secretary of Congress organization K. C. Venugopal issued the order today (6th). Earlier, 6 MLAs who cross-voted have been disqualified by the Assembly Speaker. Sudhir Sharma

Rajya Sabha elections were held in Himachal Pradesh on February 27. Senior Congress leader Abhishek Manu Singhvi was nominated by the party in this election. On this occasion, 6 MLAs including Congress MLA Sudhir Sharma cross-voted in support of the BJP candidate. As a result, Abhishek Manu Singhvi had to face defeat even though the party had more strength than expected. After that, the party raised the bar of action and took action against All India Congress Committee secretary MLA Sudhir Sharma.

Former minister Sharma, who is an MLA from Dharamshala in Himachal Pradesh, had violated the party whip. After that he had to face disqualification as an MLA. After that, he has now been expelled from the position in the party organization. Meanwhile, earlier on March 5, the party had disqualified six MLAs for cross voting. The disqualified MLAs include Rajinder Rana, Sudhir Sharma, Inder Dutt Lakhanpal, Devinder Kumar Bhutu, Ravi Thakur and Chetanya Sharma. These MLAs have approached the Supreme Court against the decision announced by the Speaker of the State Assembly Kuldeep Singh Pathania on February 29.

After the disqualification of 6 MLAs in the Legislative Assembly, the strength of the House has been reduced from 68 to 62. Also, the number of Congress MLAs fell from 40 to 34. This is the first time in the history of Himachal Pradesh that MLAs have been disqualified under the Anti-Defection Act aimed at preventing defection.

Also read this

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles