Sunday, April 21, 2024

Ranji Trophy 2024: Mumbai reached the Ranji Trophy final for a record 48th time! | leader

Leaders Online Desk : Ranji Trophy 2024 : Mumbai beat Tamil Nadu by an innings and 70 runs to reach the Ranji Trophy 2024 final for a record 48th time. Shardul Thakur produced a brilliant all-round performance in the semi-final. Along with scoring 109 runs, he also took a total of 4 wickets in both the innings with 2 each. He was selected as the man of the match. Mumbai will take on the winner between Vidarbha and Madhya Pradesh in the final match. The final match will be played from March 10 to March 14 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

How was the match? (Ranji Trophy 2024)

Tamil Nadu won the toss and elected to bat first. The pitch was helping the bowlers a lot, so there was a lot of debate about Tamil Nadu's decision to bat first. Many veteran cricketers criticized Tamil Nadu captain Sai Kishore for this decision. In the first innings, the Tamil Nadu team was bowled out for just 146 runs. Vijay Shankar scored 44 runs and Washington Sundar scored 43 runs. Apart from these two, no other Tamil Nadu batsman could even reach the 20-run mark in the first innings. M Mohammed contributed 17 runs and S Ajit Ram contributed 15 runs. For Mumbai, Tushar Deshpande took three wickets, while Shardul, Mushir Khan and Tanush Kotian took two wickets each. Mohit Awasthi got 1 wicket.

Mumbai also got off to a bad start

Mumbai also got off to a poor start in reply. Their top batsmen Shreyas Iyer, Prithvi Shaw, captain Ajinkya Rahane failed. His score was 106 runs for seven wickets. After that, Shardul Thakur's (109) century, Tanush Kotian's (89) and Musheer Khan's (55) fifties helped Mumbai score 378 runs in the first innings. Hardik Tamore contributed a useful 35 runs. Captain Sai Kishore took the most wickets from Tamil Nadu with 6 wickets. Also Kuldeep Sen took 2 wickets and Sandeep Warrier-Washington 1-1. On the strength of the first innings, Mumbai got a lead of 232 runs.

Tamil Nadu second innings 162 runs (Ranji Trophy 2024)

In the second innings, the Tamil Nadu team failed again and were bowled out for 162 runs. Baba Indrajit scored the highest 70 runs. Apart from him, no other batsman could make a special contribution. Shams Mulani took 4 wickets from Mumbai. Apart from this, Shardul Thakur, Mohit Awasthi and Tanush Kotian took 2 wickets each.

Mumbai made history

Mumbai are the first team in first-class cricket to have players score centuries in the 9th, 10th and 11th of a series. Tushar scored 123 and Tanush scored 120 at number 10. Shardul came to bat at number 9 and scored 109 runs. (Ranji Trophy 2024)

41 Ranji trophies to Mumbai's name

The Mumbai team has entered the finals of the Ranji Trophy for the 48th time. It is the only team to have won the first-class trophy more than 10 times. Mumbai has a record 41 Ranji Trophy titles to its name. So this team has been runner-up six times. The team last won the title in 2016. In terms of Ranji Trophy titles, the Karnataka cricket team is second only to Mumbai with 8 trophies.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles