Sunday, April 21, 2024

Rajya Sabha: Swearing in of 14 Rajya Sabha members including Sonia Gandhi, Ashwini Vaishnav leader

New Delhi, Leading News Service: Former Congress President Sonia Gandhi, Union Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnav along with 14 members of the Rajya Sabha were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Vice President and Speaker Jagdeep Dhankhad today (4th). As soon as Sonia Gandhi took oath, she became the first member in the history of the Gandhi family to go to the Rajya Sabha. Rajya Sabha

In her 25 years of political life, Sonia Gandhi did not take the support of the Upper House to reach the Parliament. She was first elected to the Lok Sabha in 1999. She won from two constituencies namely Bellary in Karnataka and Rae Bareli in Uttar Pradesh. Sonia Gandhi defeated BJP leader Sushma Swaraj in Bellary. However, after leaving the seat of Bellary, she became an MP from Rae Bareli. So far he has represented this constituency. However, now he has chosen the Rajya Sabha route from Rajasthan. Rajya Sabha

Sonia Gandhi took the oath in Hindi and Union Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnav, who was elected to the Rajya Sabha from Odisha, took the oath in Odia. Other 14 MPs who took oath as Rajya Sabha members include Gola Baburao of YSR Congress from Andhra Pradesh, Megha R. Reddy, Y. V. Subbareddy, Sanjay Kumar Jha of JDU from Bihar, Syed Nasir Hussain of Congress from Karnataka, Ajay Maken, Subhasish Khuntia of BJD from Odisha, Devashish Samantray, Madan Rathore of BJP, Ravi C of TRS from Telangana. V. Raju, RPN Singh of BJP from Uttar Pradesh and Sameek Bhattacharya of BJP from West Bengal.

Sonia Gandhi met Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge after taking oath as Rajya Sabha member. On this occasion, Mallikarjun Kharge wished Sonia Gandhi. “Congress Parliamentary Party President Sonia Gandhi today began her new innings by taking oath in the Rajya Sabha.. Her courage, resilience in the face of adversity and political upheaval will continue to guide our parliamentary policy. He worked in the Lok Sabha for 25 years. Now I and my fellow Members are waiting for him in the Upper House.” Said Kharge. Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi were present during this meeting.

Also read this

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles