Sunday, April 14, 2024

MUM vs VID Ranji Final Day 5: Vidarbha's tough fight, reach 333 runs by lunch | leader

Leader Online Desk : The final match of Ranji Trophy is being played between Mumbai and Vidarbha at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Today is the final fifth day of the match. Vidarbha have a target of 538 runs to win. In the first session of the final day, skipper Wadkar along with Harsh Dubey kept up a tough fight. By lunch, he reached 333 runs. Akshay Wadkar is playing on 92 and Harsh Dubey is playing on 57 runs. Now Vidarbha needs 205 runs and Mumbai needs 5 wickets for victory. (MUM vs VID Ranji Final Day 5)

MUM vs VID Ranji Final : Vidarbha's tough batting in the second innings

Vidarbha started the fourth day of the match on Wednesday with 10 not out. In the 19th over, Vidarbha got their first blow in the form of Atharva Taide. He was defeated by Shams Mulani. Taide scored 32 runs off 64 balls hitting 4 fours. After this, Vidarbha suffered another blow in the 20th over on 65 runs. Dhruv Shourey stayed at the crease and failed to play a big knock. He returned to the pavilion after playing an innings of 28 runs. He was clean bowled by Tanush. At the end of lunch, Vidarbha scored 104 runs off these 2 players. (MUM vs VID Ranji Final Day 5)

Nair-Wadkar's struggling partnership on the fourth day

Even Aman Mokhade, who came in after Dhruv Shore's dismissal, could not get the team out of trouble and was dismissed for 32 runs. Middle-order batsman Yash Rathore could not even reach double figures. He returned to the pavilion after scoring 7 runs. Vidarbha lost four wickets for 133 runs. Troubled Vidarbha were 155 for the loss of 4 wickets by tea time on the fourth day. Experienced Karun Nair hit his 31st first-class half-century in tough times. He put up a tough batting display against Mumbai's strong bowling. However, he was dismissed for 74 runs in the last session. He faced 220 balls in his innings. He shared a 95-run partnership for the fifth wicket with captain Akshay Wadkar. Wadkar then completed his half-century and did not let a wicket fall till the end of the fourth day's play in partnership with wicketkeeper Harsh Dubey. Wadkar scored 56 and Dubey returned unbeaten with 11 runs.

Mumbai's second innings, powerful century by Musheer

Prithvi Shaw 11 runs, Bhupen Lalwani 18 runs, Ajinkya Rahane 73 runs, Shreyas Iyer 95 runs, Hardik Tamor 5 runs, Mushir Khan 136 runs, Shardul Thakur nil, Tanush Kotian 13 runs. Mulani scored 50 runs. Played an unbeaten innings of runs. Shardul Thakur could not even open an account. Tanush Kotian scored 13 runs, Tushar Deshpande scored 2 runs.

Vidarbha's first innings

Shardul Thakur sends Dhruv Shorey to the pavilion. He could not even open an account. While Dhawal Kulkarni sent Aman Mokhade and Karun Nair to the pavilion. Aman was dismissed for eight runs. At the same time, Karun could not even open an account. Vidarbha started day two at 31 for three and the first blow came in the form of Atharva Taide. Dhawal Kulkarni sent him to the pavilion. Atharva managed to score 23 runs.

After this, the havoc of Shams Mulani was seen. He sent Aditya Thackeray, Akshay Wadkar and Harsh Dubey to the pavilion. Aditya could score 19, Akshay five and Harsh one. After this, Tanush wrapped up Vidarbha's innings with three wickets. He sent Yash Rathore (27), Yash Thakur (16) and Umesh Yadav (2) to the pavilion. Yash Rathore scored the most runs. Dhawal Kulkarni, who played his last first-class match for Mumbai, took three wickets. At the same time, Shams Mulani and Tanush Kotian also took three wickets each. Shardul got a wicket.

Shardul Thakur's innings, Mumbai's first innings ends at 224 runs

Mumbai started well. Prithvi Shaw and Bhupen Lalwani shared a partnership of 81 runs for the first wicket. Yash Thakur broke this partnership. He caught Bhupen with Akshay Karvi. He could score 37 runs. After this Harsh Dubey clean bowled Prithvi. He could score 46 runs. After these two wickets, a flurry of wickets flew. Musheer Khan was dismissed for six, skipper Ajinkya Rahane for seven, Shreyas Iyer for seven and Hardik Tamore for five. Shardul Thakur's 75 runs were decisive in Mumbai's first innings. Shams Mulani was dismissed for 13 runs.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles