Sunday, April 21, 2024

MUM vs VID Ranji Final Day 5: Mumbai beat Vidarbha by 169 runs in Ranji Trophy | leader

Leader Online Desk : Mumbai defeated Vidarbha by 169 runs to win the Ranji Trophy 2023-24 today. Mumbai team has won the Ranji Trophy title 42 times. In this year's final, Shardul Thakur saved Mumbai in the first innings. While in the second innings Musheer's powerful century, captain Ajinkya Rahane's restrained innings, Vidarbha's Karun Nair, Harsh Dubechi and captain Akshay Wadkar put on a tough batting display as Mumbai chased down the huge target. But finally this fight failed and Vidarbha's dream of winning the Ranji Trophy for the third time was shattered.

After lunch, Mumbai's dominance, Wadkar-Dube's fight was futile

Mumbai dominated after lunch on the final day of the match. Mumbai got their first breakthrough on the fifth day after lunch. Captain Akshay Wadkar was bowled by Mumbai spinner Tanush Kotian. Wadkar scored 102 runs off 199 balls hitting 4 fours and 1 six. Harsh Dubey was also dismissed after captain Wadkar. He was caught by Tushar Deshpande off Shams Mulani. He scored 65 off 128 balls. Although Wadkar-Dubey's battle was in vain, due to their fighting partnership, a new record of more than 350 runs in the fourth innings has been registered in the name of the Vidarbha team. After the dismissal of Wadkar and Dubey, the rest of the Vidarbha batsmen were quickly dismissed.

Mumbai ended their eight-year winning drought

In this century itself, Mumbai have won seven titles and lost the title match only 6 times. This year, there was an abundance of international cricketers in Mumbai's team. There were many big names including captain Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Prithvi Shaw, Shardul Thakur. While Vidarbha dominated the opposition teams and reached the final match. For the last eight years, Mumbai could not end the title drought. Mumbai last won the trophy in 2016. Now after eight years, Mumbai once again proved that they are the king in the Ranji Trophy. However, Vidarbha's struggle also turned out to spoil the joy of cricket.

Mumbai won the Ranji Trophy for the 42nd time

The first season of the trophy, named after Maharaja Ranjit Singh, was held in 1934-35. Since then, Mumbai had won the title 41 times. The Vidarbha team had engraved its name on this trophy twice so far. In this year's final match, Mumbai team had a strong hold. However, the Vidarbha team, which was in shambles in the first innings, gave a tough fight in the second innings. After the team's openers failed again, Karun Nair and captain Akshay Wadkar kept Vidarbha's challenge alive till the fifth day with a brilliant batting display.

Captain Akshay Wadkar's struggling century

In the first session of the final day, skipper Wadkar along with Harsh Dubey kept up a tough fight. On the strength of their century partnership, the Vidarbha team reached 333 runs by lunch. When play resumed after lunch, Akshay Wadkar completed his century. He scored a memorable century by hitting 9 fours and 1 six in 195 balls. (MUM vs VID Ranji Final Day 5)

Tough batting from Vidarbha in the second innings

Vidarbha started the fourth day of the match on Wednesday with 10 not out. In the 19th over, Vidarbha got their first blow in the form of Atharva Taide. He was defeated by Shams Mulani. Taide scored 32 runs off 64 balls hitting 4 fours. After this, Vidarbha suffered another blow in the 20th over on 65 runs. Dhruv Shourey stayed at the crease and failed to play a big knock. He returned to the pavilion after playing an innings of 28 runs. He was clean bowled by Tanush. At the end of lunch, Vidarbha scored 104 runs off these 2 players.

A struggling partnership of Nair-Wadkar from Vidarbha

Even Aman Mokhade, who came in after Dhruv Shore's dismissal, could not get the team out of trouble and was dismissed for 32 runs. Middle-order batsman Yash Rathore could not even reach double figures. He returned to the pavilion after scoring 7 runs. Vidarbha lost four wickets for 133 runs. Troubled Vidarbha were 155 for the loss of 4 wickets by tea time on the fourth day. Experienced Karun Nair hit his 31st first-class half-century in tough times. He put up a tough batting display against Mumbai's strong bowling. However, he was dismissed for 74 runs in the last session. He faced 220 balls in his innings. He shared a 95-run partnership for the fifth wicket with captain Akshay Wadkar. Wadkar then completed his half-century and did not let a wicket fall till the end of the fourth day's play in partnership with wicketkeeper Harsh Dubey. Wadkar scored 56 and Dubey returned unbeaten with 11 runs.

Mumbai's second innings, powerful century by Musheer

Prithvi Shaw 11 runs, Bhupen Lalwani 18 runs, Ajinkya Rahane 73 runs, Shreyas Iyer 95 runs, Hardik Tamor 5 runs, Mushir Khan 136 runs, Shardul Thakur nil, Tanush Kotian 13 runs. Mulani scored 50 runs. Played an unbeaten innings of runs. Shardul Thakur could not even open an account. Tanush Kotian scored 13 runs, Tushar Deshpande scored 2 runs.

Vidarbha's first innings

Shardul Thakur sends Dhruv Shorey to the pavilion. He could not even open an account. While Dhawal Kulkarni sent Aman Mokhade and Karun Nair to the pavilion. Aman was dismissed for eight runs. At the same time, Karun could not even open an account. Vidarbha started day two at 31 for three and the first blow came in the form of Atharva Taide. Dhawal Kulkarni sent him to the pavilion. Atharva was able to score 23 runs. After this Shams Mulani's havoc was witnessed. He sent Aditya Thackeray, Akshay Wadkar and Harsh Dubey to the pavilion. Aditya could score 19, Akshay five and Harsh one. After this, Tanush wrapped up Vidarbha's innings with three wickets. He sent Yash Rathore (27), Yash Thakur (16) and Umesh Yadav (2) to the pavilion. Yash Rathore scored the most runs. Dhawal Kulkarni, who played his last first-class match for Mumbai, took three wickets. At the same time, Shams Mulani and Tanush Kotian also took three wickets each. Shardul got a wicket.

Shardul Thakur's innings, Mumbai's first innings ends at 224 runs

Mumbai started well. Prithvi Shaw and Bhupen Lalwani shared a partnership of 81 runs for the first wicket. Yash Thakur broke this partnership. He caught Bhupen with Akshay Karvi. He could score 37 runs. After this Harsh Dubey clean bowled Prithvi. He could score 46 runs. After these two wickets, a flurry of wickets flew. Musheer Khan was dismissed for six, skipper Ajinkya Rahane for seven, Shreyas Iyer for seven and Hardik Tamore for five. Shardul Thakur's 75 runs were decisive in Mumbai's first innings. Shams Mulani was dismissed for 13 runs.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles