Friday, May 24, 2024

MI vs CSK : Super win for Chennai; Mumbai Indians defeated at home | leader

Mumbai; Leading News Service: Chennai heroes won the high voltage drama between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. Chennai Super Kings beat Mumbai by 20 runs in this match held at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Batting first, Chennai scored 206 for 4. Mumbai's reply stopped at 186 runs. Mumbai's Rohit Sharma scored a century. But, as he did not get the support of the captain and other batsmen, this fight became futile. Rohit remained unbeaten on 105 runs in 63 balls. He hit 11 fours and 5 sixes. Mathisha Pathirana contributed to the victory by taking four wickets. In Chennai's innings, Hardik Pandya's 26 runs in the last over proved to be decisive to explain the difference between victory and defeat. (MI vs CSK)

At home, Mumbai Indians got off to a strong start as they chase down Chennai Super Kings' 207-run challenge. Openers Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan scored 63 runs in the first 6 overs. Rohit's 42 runs and Ishan Kishan's 21 runs contributed in this. 70 runs in 7 overs was a dream start for any team; But from here onwards Parde moved.

The first two balls of the eighth over set Mumbai on fire. Ishan Kishan (23) was dismissed on the first ball, while Suryakumar was dismissed on the second ball. Chennai did not relinquish the grip it gained this time. On one side, Rohit Sharma was risking his life. But, on the other side, the batsmen were just trying to make an appearance. Tilak Verma (31), Hardik Pandya (2), Tim David (13), Romario Shepherd (1) all but sealed Mumbai's defeat, the only thing fans could hope for now was a century from the hitman. Rohit reached his century in 61 balls; But he did not celebrate the century. The sadness of defeat was visible on his face. Mumbai scored 186 for 6 in 20 overs. Chennai's Mathisha Pathirana took 4 wickets for 28 runs. (MI vs CSK)

Chennai came up with a surprise innings and sent in local boy Ajinkya Rahane to open alongside Rachin Ravindra. Rahane hit Mohammad Nabi for a boundary in the first over, but was caught on a pool shot by Gerald Coetzee in the second over. Chennai hit first on 8 runs; But Rituraj increased the speed of the run and Ravindra stood up for his partner. Shreyas Gopal got the wicket of Ravindra (21) at the mercy of Ishan Kishan. The on-field umpire gave a not-out decision. But, Ishaan Kishan convinced Hardik to take 'DRS' and the decision turned out to be the right one. Ravindra and Rituraj shared a partnership of 52 runs.

After that, local boy Shivam Dubey did not spare a single bowler of Mumbai Indians. Rituraj completed his half century in 33 balls. Dubey also completed his half-century in 28 balls. The duo had hit fours and sixes and Hardik Pandya broke the pair. Rituraj was caught on 69 (40 balls, 5 fours and 5 sixes) in an attempt to hit a great shot. He put on 90 runs in 45 balls with Dubey for the third wicket.

Despite the dismissal of Rituraj, Dubey was unstoppable and fired fours and sixes off Romario Shepherd. The decision to send Darryl Mitchell ahead of Dhoni was not well liked by the fans. Mitchell was caught for 17 off 14 balls and the stadium erupted as Dhoni came on for the last 4 balls. Dhoni sent the first ball over the boundary towards mid-on. After that, the next two balls were sixes and Dhoni took two runs off the last ball and smashed 20 runs in 4 balls to take CSK to 206 for 4. Dubey remained unbeaten on 66 off 38 balls with 10 fours and 2 sixes. (MI vs CSK)

Rituraj broke Sachin Tendulkar's record

  • Rituraj has become the Indian cricketer to score 2,000 runs in the shortest innings in the 'IPL', while becoming the third player overall. Rituraj in this record list K. L. Rahul and Sachin Tendulkar have been surpassed.
  • K. L. Rahul scored 2,000 IPL runs in 60 innings, while Sachin Tendulkar reached the 2,000-run mark in 63 innings.
  • Chris Gayle holds the record for scoring 2,000 runs in the shortest innings in the IPL. Gayle has achieved this feat in 48 innings, while Shaun Marsh, who is second, has scored 2,000 runs in IPL in 52 innings.

Cricketer to score 2,000 runs in shortest innings in 'IPL'

  • 48 innings – Chris Gayle
  • 52 innings – Shaun Marsh
  • 57 innings- Rituraj Gaikwad
  • 60 innings – K. L. Rahul
  • 63 innings – Sachin Tendulkar

Dhoni's 5 thousand runs completed

M. S. Dhoni has made a huge record to his name. In this match, Dhoni scored 20 runs unbeaten with 3 sixes while facing 4 balls.

Dhoni has scored a total of 5,016 runs for Chennai. Which includes 23 fifties. He has now become the second batsman to score 5,000 runs for 'CSK'. Suresh Raina had done this feat earlier. Raina had scored 5,529 runs for 'CSK'.

M. S. Dhoni has been playing for Chennai Super Kings since 2008. He has played 250 matches for 'CSK' so far. Dhoni has become the second player to play 250 or more matches for a single team in the T20 format. Before him, Virat Kohli tops the list.

Also Read:

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles