Friday, June 14, 2024

Lok Sabha Election 2024 : Congress deprived of victory in UP's Amroha for last 40 years

Special Representative

The condition of Congress is very bad in many constituencies of Uttar Pradesh, including Amethi, Rae Bareli, which once guaranteed victory to the Gandhi family. Congress has to fight to get its candidates elected. For victory, Congress has made a concerted effort to form an alliance with the Samajwadi Party. In the Amroha constituency, it has been seen that the Congress has not won the victory for the last 40 years.

Rampal Singh of Congress won in Amroha in 1984. Since then, even after trying till now, Congress has not succeeded. In the Lok Sabha elections held in the last 40 years, BJP has won thrice, Bahujan Samaj Party twice, Samajwadi Party, Janata Dal and Rashtriya Lok Dal once each in this constituency. Independent Harish Nagpal won the 2004 election.

The party has nominated Kunwar Danish Ali, who left the BSP and joined the Congress in this year's elections. In 2019, Ali contested the election on a BSP ticket and won. He defeated BJP candidate Kanwar Singh Tanwar by 63 thousand 248 votes. Even after defeat, BJP has given Kanwar Singh Tanwar a chance.

In the second phase, the Congress is contesting in Bulandshahr, Mathura and Ghaziabad constituencies along with Amroha for the April 26 polls. Congress leader Rahul Gandhi and SP chief Akhilesh Yadav have clashed in the campaign to elect Kunwar Danish Ali as they are in alliance with the SP.

Also Read:

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles