Thursday, June 20, 2024

ICC Men's T20 World Cup, 2024: A 'thrilling' win Africa in 'Super-8'!, what happened in the last over?

Leader Online Desk : South Africa and Bangladesh teams faced each other in the T20 World Cup on Monday. South Africa won the match by four runs in the last over. South Africa's third consecutive win in the World Cup has made it to the Super-8. Let's find out what really happened in the last over of the thrilling match on Monday…

Batting first, South Africa scored 113 for 6 in 20 overs in the match played at the Nassau County International Stadium in New York. This was South Africa's lowest score in the history of T20 World Cup. Earlier in 2007 against India, South Africa scored 116 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in 20 overs. In reply, Bangladesh scored 109 runs for the loss of seven wickets in 20 overs. In the last over, Bangladesh needed 11 runs to win. Captain Markram expressed faith in Keshav Maharaj and entrusted the ball to him for the last over.

What happened in the last over?

  • First Ball: Keshav Maharaj bowled the first ball wide. Now only 10 runs in six balls were the target for Bangladesh
  • Second Ball: Zaker Ali hit hard and scored two runs.
  • Third Ball: Zaker got caught in Maharaj's spin net. He took an easy catch to Markram.
  • Fourth ball: Taskin Ahmed came to play. He strikes to Mahmudullah for one run.
  • Fifth ball: Mahmudullah takes a catch to Markram.
  • Sixth Ball: With the team needing six runs off the last ball, Taskin tried to play a big shot; But he did not succeed. He took a run. Maharaj justified the captain's victory and gave South Africa a four-run win.

The partnership of Klaasen and Miller saved South Africa

South Africa won the toss and elected to bat first. But the innings started badly. In the first over, Tanzeem Hasan Saqib had Reza Hendricks lbw for no runs. After this, Quinton de Kock, Aidan Markram, Tristan Stubbs were dismissed in quick succession. In the Powerplay, South Africa lost four wickets for just 25 runs. This was his third lowest score in the Powerplay in a T20 World Cup. Then Heinrich Klaasen and David Miller took the lead. He put on a massive 79-run partnership with Miller for the fifth wicket between the two. Taskin Ahmed broke this partnership. Klaassen was bowled for 102 runs. He contributed 46 runs. Immediately after this, Miller was dismissed for 28 runs. In this match, Marco Jansen and Keshav Maharaj scored five and four runs respectively. Both remained unbeaten. Tanzim took three wickets and Taskin took two wickets for Bangladesh. At the same time Rishad Hussain got success.

Bangladesh's innings ended on 109 runs

Chasing a modest challenge of 114 runs, Bangladesh also got off to a poor start. On nine runs. Africa's fast bowler Rabada gave the team the first shock. He got Tanjid Hasan caught by de Kockar. After this, Keshav Maharaj rushed Liton Das into the tent. Najmul Hasan Shanto scored 14 runs, Shakib Al Hasan scored three runs, Tawheed Hriday scored 37 runs, Mahmudullah scored 20 runs, Zakir Ali scored eight runs. Rishad Hussain and Taskin Ahmed remained unbeaten with one run each. Keshav Maharaj took three wickets for South Africa. Kagiso Rabada and Enrique Nortje took two wickets each.

Also Read:

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles