Thursday, July 18, 2024

Nepal's Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal won the confidence vote for the third time leader

Leader Online Desk : Nepal Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal today won the confidence vote by 157 votes. This was the third confidence motion against Dahal, reported 'ANI'.

A total of 268 votes were cast in today's vote of confidence in the Nepal Parliament. 157 votes were cast in favor of Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal. 110 MPs voted against the motion of confidence. A Member of Parliament of the Federal Parliament of Nepal was absent on this occasion.

Pushpa Kamal Dahal faced the third confidence motion in 15 months. According to Article 100 sub-section (2) of the Constitution of Nepal, it is mandatory for the Prime Minister to prove majority in case of withdrawal of any party from the coalition. On 4 March, Prime Minister Dahal decided to re-establish an alliance with the Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist-Leninist) (CPN-UML).

All parties in the new coalition had issued whips to vote for Dahal. The Nepali Congress, the largest party in the parliament in terms of seats in the federal parliament, also issued a whip to its MPs to vote against Dahal.

Dahal received 99 percent of the votes in the confidence vote held on 10 January 2023, the highest vote in the history of the Nepali Parliament. is A total of 268 MPs out of 270 present in that meeting voted in favor of Dahal. But within three months, Dahal, at odds with the Nepali Congress, again asked the CPN-UML to withdraw from the government. After this, on March 20, 2023, they managed to get a majority in the confidence vote.

Also Read:

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles