Sunday, April 21, 2024

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: 'Disruption' in 'India' alliance in Jammu and Kashmir too, Omar Abdullah lashed out at 'PDP' | leader

Leader Online Desk : The blurring of the India Alliance of BJP opposition parties, which was formed before the announcement of the Lok Sabha elections, has continued even in the election battlefield. The differences between the National Conference and the People's Democratic Party (PDP) in Jammu and Kashmir have once again come to the fore.

Speaking to the media today, National Conference leader Omar Abdullah said that PDP leader Mehbooba Mufti had said that Farooq Abdullah and our Aghadi were in the India Aghadi meeting in Delhi. He also claimed that India Aghadi will not break; then Omar also questioned why he is contesting the election against the National Conference candidate in Jammu and Kashmir. He also reminded that in the 2014 assembly elections, we gave an opportunity to 'PDP' to elect the DDC candidate.

'NC' nominated Mian Altaf in Anantnag-Rajouri

The National Conference (NC) has announced the candidature of senior party leader Mian Altaf Ahmed Laharvi from the Anantnag-Rajouri constituency of Jammu and Kashmir. With that, the chances of the National Conference forming an alliance with the People's Democratic Party (PDP) led by former Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti are now believed to be almost over.

Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha constituency is Mehbooba Mufti's traditional constituency. Mehbooba Mufti had won in this constituency in 2014. His father and PDP founder, late Mufti Mohammad Sayeed was also elected from the erstwhile Anantnag constituency in 1998. In the delimitation of 2022, the constituency consisting of Poonch and Rajouri districts has been renamed as Anantnag-Rajouri. The Anantnag area of ​​South Kashmir is predominantly Muslim, while the Poonch and Rajouri districts have a large Gujjar and Pahari population. Laharvi is a prominent Gujjar priest. National Conference's Hasnain Masudi won the election in this constituency in 2019. Mehbooba Mufti was thrown at number three.

Farooq Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti attended Bharat Bloc's 'Save Democracy' rally in New Delhi on March 31. At this time, Mehbooba Mufti had said that India's leadership will continue in Jammu and Kashmir. On Monday, April 1, Omar Abdullah announced Laharvi as the candidate from the Anantnag-Rajouri constituency. After this, the differences between the two parties have once again come to the fore.

Will there be a split in India's alliance in Jammu and Kashmir?

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the National Conference won all the three seats in the Kashmir division. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won two seats in Jammu region and the only seat in Ladakh. Laharvi, who is now contesting elections from Anantnag-Rajouri constituency from NC, has previously contested assembly elections five times. He has also been a Cabinet Minister in the Government of Jammu and Kashmir. PDP is planning to field its candidate from Anantnag-Rajouri seat. The National Conference is insisting on contesting all the three seats in Kashmir. As both the parties have announced that they will contest the Lok Sabha elections on their own, it is believed that there will be a split in the Indian Alliance in Jammu and Kashmir.

The upcoming Lok Sabha elections to be held in Jammu and Kashmir will be the first after the abrogation of Article 370. Voting in Jammu and Kashmir will be held in five phases from April 19 and the counting of votes will be held on June 4.

Also Read:

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles