Friday, June 14, 2024

Lok sabha election 2024 : Voting will be held for the first time in Naxal-affected areas of 'Singhbhum', ECI team will go by helicopter | leader

Leader Online Desk: The battle for the Lok Sabha elections is going on all over the country. This year, the Naxal-affected areas of Sinhbhum Lok Sabha constituency in Jharkhand will go to polls on May 13 after decades. This constituency includes Saranda, the densest forest in Asia. Staff and voting materials will be taken with the help of helicopters so that citizens can exercise their right to vote. 118 polling stations will be constructed in these remote areas.

22 people died in violence last year

Some parts of Sinhbhum constituency are known as Naxal-infested. Now this area is going to vote after almost two decades. Singhbhum is also known as the most left-wing influenced district in the country. Last year, 22 people died in Maoist-related violence here.

Lok sabha election 2024 : No voter will be deprived of voting

We are committed to ensure that no voter in Sinhbhum Constituency is deprived of voting. We have identified many constituencies where polling will be held after nearly two decades. Deputy Commissioner of West Singhbhum said that Naxals were in this place. District Election Officer Kuldeep Chaudhary told PTI. He also clarified that voting will be held for the first time in this election at the polling stations of Madhyamik School, Nugdi and Madhya Vidyalaya, Borero.

15 new camps of security forces

Thalkobad and about two dozen villages were earlier called 'Mukt Kshetra'. However, the administration succeeded in proving its presence by carrying out many operations including Operation Anaconda on behalf of the security forces. A total of 15 new camps of security forces have been established in this area.

There are more than 62 voters above 100 years of age

There will be 118 polling booths in remote locations like Robokera, Binj, Thalkobad, Jaraikela, Rom, Rengaratu, Hansabeda and Chotanagar. In some areas, employees will have to walk four to five km to provide voting facilities. We are making sure that voters are not inconvenienced in this election,” Chowdhury also clarified. Apart from helicopters, polling staff will travel by train and road, he said. 121 teams will be sent by rail to this area. This constituency has more than 62 voters whose age is above 100. The administration has also clarified that voting will be taken at their homes.

Geeta Koda from BJP in the arena

Singhbhum, an Assembly constituency reserved for Scheduled Tribes, has 14.32 lakh voters, of whom 7.27 lakh are women. BJP has nominated Geeta Koda, wife of former Chief Minister Madhu Koda and sitting MP from this seat. Koda was the only Congress MP from Jharkhand. He has recently joined the BJP. India's allies are yet to announce a candidate for the seat.

Six assembly constituencies in Sinhbhum Lok Sabha Constituency

There are six assembly constituencies under Singhbhum Lok Sabha constituency, including Seraikela, Chaibasa, Mazgan, Jagannathpur, Manoharpur and Chakradharpur. Except Seraikela which falls under Seraikela-Kharsawan district, rest of the places fall under West Singhbhum district. Lok Sabha elections will be held in Jharkhand in four phases on May 13, 20, 25 and June 1. In the 2019 general elections, BJP won 11 seats, while its ally AJSU won one seat. JMM and Congress both won one seat each.

Also Read:

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles