Thursday, July 18, 2024

Lok Sabha 2024 : Don't forget cow and calf! | leader

Leaders Online Desk: After winning the 1967 elections, Indira Gandhi decided to nationalize banks, stop the salaries and allowances of Raje Maharaj. He had differences with the senior leaders of the Congress party over some issues. As a result, two groups, Syndicate and Indicate, were formed. Indira Gandhi was the leader of Indicate while the Syndicate was led by Neelam Sanjeev Reddy, Morarji Desai, S. why Patil and others had. Indiraji's opponents and opposition parties were united against her. Seeing the atmosphere in the country, Indira Gandhi gave the slogan 'Garibi Hatao' and the then Principal Secretary P. N. Early elections were announced as per Haksar's advice. Voting took place from 1 to 10 March 1971. A split in the Congress before this election resulted in Indiraji's faction being named Congress (R for Requisition) and the other faction as Congress (O for Organization). Due to its unprecedented electoral success, Indiraji's Congress was later recognized as the official Indian National Congress. Indiraji's party contested these elections on the 'cow-calf' symbol. The slogan 'cow-calf, don't forget' was popular in investment.

Palodkar's resounding victory

It is special that Indiraji retained all seven seats in Marathwada in this election. Congress leader Manikrao Dada Palodkar from Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar won by 1 lakh 47 thousand votes. He got nearly 70 percent of the votes cast, meaning the election was a one-sided affair for Palodkar. Jan Sangh had fielded Rambhau Gawande against him. Gawande had to settle for 47 thousand 15 (16.8 percent) votes. Saheb Shivram Bala More 11 thousand 398 (16.8 percent), Mohammad Zafar 10 thousand 638 (3.8 percent), Qasim Syed 1,117 (0.4 percent) votes of Ripa Khobragade group were received by other candidates.

CPM – CPI, O-Congress

CPI was founded in 1925 and CPI(M) in 1964. Due to the split in communist ideology, candidates of Communist Party of India, Marxist Communist Party stood in many places in the state. In Beed Constituency, Sayajirao Pandit won by getting 1 lakh 87 thousand 132 votes. CPM's Gangadhar Appa Burande got 32,555 votes while CPI's Kashinath Jadhav got 22 thousand 787 votes. BJP's Rajpal Sinha got 14 thousand 242 votes, Bankat Kande got 11 thousand 155 votes, Khobragade group's Ramchandra More got 1 thousand 406 votes. It is noteworthy that Bankat Kande was the candidate of the Congress (O) group.

File photo: Manikrao Dada Palodkar with the then Union Minister Yashwantrao Chavan, Chief Minister Vasantrao Naik at a program at Sillod

Also read this

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles