Monday, May 20, 2024

IPL 2024: Kolkata beat Bangalore by seven wickets | leader

Bangalore; News Agency: Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by 7 wickets in the tenth match of the seventeenth season of 'IPL'. KKR easily chased down RCB's challenge and won with 19 balls to spare.

KKR's batsmen put in a team performance as they chased down the challenge of 183 runs given by RCB on the strength of Virat Kohli's 83 runs. Phil Salt (30), Sunil Narine (47), Venkatesh Iyer (50) and skipper Shreyas Iyer (39) scored for the visitors. Virat Kohli played a big knock for RCB; But King Kohli's slow innings could not be sustained. KKR's batsmen marched towards victory with Virat's innings from the start. For KKR, Sunil Narine smashed 47 runs in 22 balls with the help of 5 sixes and 2 fours, while Venkatesh Iyer scored 50 runs in 30 balls. For 9 consecutive years, RCB had to lose to KKR at their home ground. Yash Dayal, Mayank Dagar and Vijayakumar Vaishakh managed to take 1 wicket each for Bangalore.

Earlier, King Kohli put in an incredible performance as he batted first after losing the toss. Batting first, hosts RCB suffered a major blow in the form of captain Faf Duplessis. While RCB's middle order was collapsing like a house of cards, Virat Kohli scored an unbeaten 83 off 59 balls. Cameron Green and Glenn Maxwell supported Virat well. In the last few overs, Dinesh Karthik put the finishing touches and put the team in a strong position. Kohli top-scored, scoring an unbeaten 83 off 59 balls with 4 sixes and 4 fours. So, Faf Duplessis (8), Cameron Green (33), Glenn Maxwell (28), Rajat Patidar (3), Anuj Rawat (3) scored runs. Dinesh Karthik gave great support to Virat in the last two overs by hitting 20 runs in 8 balls.

All the bowlers from KKR except Andre Russell were washed out. Russell and Harshit Rana took 2 wickets each, while Sunil Narine managed to take 1 wicket. Mitchell Starc, who became the most expensive bowler in the history of IPL, was also washed out. Starc also failed to take a single wicket and conceded 47 runs in 4 overs.

Also Read:

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles