Thursday, June 13, 2024

IPL 2024 : Hyderabad jump to second place; Win against Punjab by four wickets

Leader Online Desk: Sunrisers Hyderabad defeated Punjab Kings by four wickets in match 69 of IPL 2024. Prabhasimran's brilliant innings of 71 runs helped Punjab challenge Hyderabad to 215 runs for victory. Chasing this challenge, Hyderabad passed this challenge by keeping 4 wickets. Abhishek Sharma of Hyderabad played an important knock in this. With the win in the match, Hyderabad has confirmed the play-off ticket by leaping to the second position in the points table. (IPL 2024)

Today is the last double header of IPL 2024. After this, the playoffs will begin from Tuesday. Sunrisers have won their match in the battle for second place. Now they have to wait for today's second match between Rajasthan Royals and Kolkata Knight Riders. If Kolkata lose or the match is washed out by rain, Sunrisers will qualify for the playoffs by finishing second in the league. At the same time, if the Rajasthan team succeeds in defeating Kolkata, then Kolkata will finish first and Rajasthan will reach the playoffs. In such a situation, Sunrisers will have to settle for third place. The fourth team to reach the playoffs is Royal Challengers Bangalore. Sunrisers finished the league with eight wins and five losses from 14 matches. One match was washed away by rain. The team scored a total of 17 points. Meanwhile, Kolkata currently has 19 points and Rajasthan currently has 16 points. RCB has 14 points.

After winning the toss and batting first, Punjab scored 214 for the loss of five wickets. Prabhasimran Singh scored 71 runs off 45 balls, Riley Russo scored 49 runs off 24 balls and Atharva Thaide scored 46 runs off 27 balls. In reply, Abhishek Sharma's 66 off 28 balls and Heinrich Klaasen's 42 off 26 balls helped Hyderabad chase down the target of 215 in 19.1 overs for the loss of six wickets.

Earlier, after winning the toss and batting first, Punjab scored 214 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in 20 overs. Prabhasimran Singh scored 71 runs in 45 balls with the help of seven fours and four sixes. However, half-centuries from Atharva Taide and Riley Russo, who played brilliantly, missed out. While Atharva was dismissed for 46 off 27 balls with five fours and two sixes, Russo was dismissed for 49 off 24 balls with three fours and four sixes. Skipper Jitesh Sharma scored an unbeaten 32 off 15 balls with the help of two fours and two sixes. Punjab scored 19 runs in the 20th over. T Natarajan top-scored with two wickets for Hyderabad. While Pat Cummins and Vijayakanth Vyaskanth got one wicket each.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles