Monday, May 20, 2024

Himachal Pradesh Political Crisis | Himachal's 'those' 6 rebel Congress MLAs shocked, SC refuses to stay disqualification decision | leader

Leaders Online: The petition of six rebel Congress MLAs from Himachal Pradesh challenging the decision of disqualification of the assembly speaker was heard in the Supreme Court on Monday. The Supreme Court issued a notice to the concerned respondents. Meanwhile, the Supreme Court refused to stay the Assembly Speaker's decision to disqualify six rebel Congress MLAs. Court may issue notice. But the court said that it cannot stay the decision of disqualification or ask for a fresh election. (Himachal Pradesh Political Crisis)

On February 29, Vidhan Sabha Speaker Kuldeep Singh Pathania had disqualified six Congress MLAs who had cross-voted during the Rajya Sabha elections under the Anti-Defection Act. Congress MLA and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Harsh Vardhan Chouhan had filed a petition seeking disqualification of six rebel MLAs under the Anti-Defection Act. Congress candidate Abhishek Manu Singhvi was defeated by BJP's Harsh Mahajan for the Himachal Pradesh Rajya Sabha seat due to cross voting by these six MLAs.

Assembly Speaker Kuldeep Singh Pathania had heard both sides on February 28. Voting in favor of BJP's Rajya Sabha candidate despite issuance of whip. Apart from this, Congress MLAs Rajendra Rana, Sudhir Sharma, Ravi Thakur, Devendra Kumar Bhutto, Indradutt Lakhanpal and Chaitanya Sharma were accused of being absent in the House while approving the budget. After this, Assembly Speaker Kuldeep Singh Pathania disqualified these rebel MLAs under the Anti-Defection Act on 29th February. This decision has been challenged in the Supreme Court. It was heard today.

Senior lawyer Harish Salve argued the side of the rebel MLAs in the court today. (Himachal Pradesh Political Crisis)

Read this:

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles