Saturday, May 18, 2024

BSP MLA Raju Pal murder case | All 7 members of Atiq Ahmed gang convicted in BSP MLA Raju Pal murder case leader

Leaders Online Desk: Lucknow's CBI court convicted all 7 accused in the BSP MLA Raju Pal murder case. Criminal-turned-politician Atiq Ahmed and his brother Ashraf were also accused in the case. Meanwhile, the court sentenced six people to life imprisonment and one to four years.

Atiq Ahmed and Ashraf, who were shot dead during a police escort, were accused in the Raju Pal murder case. Now all the remaining 7 accused Abid, Farhan, Javed, Abdul Kavi, Gul Hasan, Israr and Ranjit have been convicted. 19 years ago on January 25, 2005, the then BSP MLA Raju Pal was shot dead along with Devilal Pal and Sandeep Yadav in Dhumanganj, Prayagraj.

The CBI had filed a charge sheet against 10 people including former MP Atiq Ahmed and his younger brother, former MLA Ashraf alias Khalid Azim in the case. But last year, Atiq Ahmed and his brother Ashraf Ahmed were shot dead by three youths while the police were escorting them from a hospital in Prayagraj. Gulfool alias Rafiq Ahmed also died during the trial.

Raju Pal was killed out of animosity. Raju Pal, a Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) leader from Allahabad in Uttar Pradesh, was shot dead on 25 January 2005 in a political feud with Atiq Ahmed's brother Ashraf, whom he had defeated in a 2004 by-election from the Prayagraj West seat. All the accused in the Atiq gang have been convicted under sections 302 (murder), 120 B (criminal conspiracy), 147 (rioting) and 148 (rioting with armed weapons) of the IPC in connection with the murder.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles