Friday, June 14, 2024

Assembly By-Elections: By-elections announced for 13 assembly seats in the country, voting on 10 July

Leader Online Desk : Assembly By-Elections : The Central Election Commission (ECI) on Monday (Dec 10) announced the by-poll dates for 13 assembly seats in seven states, including four seats in West Bengal. The ECI has clarified that by-elections will be held for the seats left vacant due to the death or resignation of the existing members. According to the Election Commission, 1 in Tamil Nadu, 1 in Madhya Pradesh, 2 in Uttarakhand, 1 in Punjab, 3 in Himachal, 1 in Bihar and 4 in Bengal will go to polls on July 10. Then the results will be declared on 13th July.

Notification of these seats will be published on 14th June. The last date for filing nomination forms for the by-elections has been fixed on June 21. Scrutiny of nominations will be held on June 24. The last date for withdrawal of nominations has been fixed on June 26. After this, voting will be held on July 10 and the result will be announced on July 13. Lok Sabha elections were recently held in the country.

The Bharatiya Janata Party won 240 of the 543 seats in the Lok Sabha, but was unable to secure an absolute majority to form a government on its own. However, the BJP formed the government with its allies. Narendra Modi was sworn in as Prime Minister for the third time on June 9, along with 71 ministers who took the oath of office and secrecy.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles